Attn: Recruiters,Drivers,and Owners - Need Advice

Rocket

Expert Expediter
Wondering if any of you folks can help me out...point me in the right direction?
I am an experienced Tractor Trailer driver from Northern Indiana.
Have over 10 years experience in the last 15 years.
Was driving up until April of 2001 when I received a dui off duty in my own personal vehicle.
Of course this puts an immediate halt to the driving career.
CDL was reinstated back in July of that year but could not find a company that would hire me....due to insurance reasons.
After hearing this dozens of times,I gave up altogether searching for another driving career.
I had to make a career change and it was rough.
I finally settled in the Mortgage Business and have been for the past 3.5 yrs.
I'm getting the itch again to drive,maybe cargo van,staight truck, or tractor trailer.
Haven't decided yet.
Would possibly be interested in becoming an Owner Operator
if I could get the financing and the terms were acceptable.

Challenges:

DUI 3.5 yrs ago
Canadian Border crossing priveleges
(Something about Canada requiring a "rehabilitation" permission to enter Canada)
No driving experience in those 3.5 yrs

Questions:

What companies would hire me as a driver or contractor under these challenges?

Is there anything I can do to help myself?

ANY ADVICE WOULD BE APPRECIATED!!!

P.S. Great Site!!!

raceman

Veteran Expediter
RE: Attn: Recruiters,Drivers,and Owners - Need Adv

The folks I know will not take you with a DUI in the last 10 years. Seems to me I have heard that there are some big companies in the business, expediting, that may talk to you at 3.5 years. I don't want to throw out names but they advertise on this site and they are the big players in this business. There are four or five of them. I do not know this to be fact but I would guess they have more options due to the fact they handle the insurance internally. That is all I have to offer. Sorry it is not more.raceman

Tom Robertson