Are Cargo Vans profitable?

BoogiedownBronnx

New Recruit
Researching
I'm new to expediting, I'm FedEx CC, and Panther approved. My first choice would be to drive a straight truck, but since I can't afford my own truck just yet, I'd have to dive teams... I'm not too crazy about sharing such a small space with a stranger, so I'm considering going with a fleet owner that has cargo vans. Are cargo vans profitable? I'd greatly appreciate any, and all honest advice, Thank You. ;)

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
Cargo vans can be profitable, as long as you own it and don't let anyone else drive it. Splitting cargo van revenue between an owner and a driver is probably the least profitable way to be in this business.

BoogiedownBronnx

New Recruit
Researching
Thanks for the information.. Unfortunately TST doesn't hire from my area, which is the wall I keep running into. Most companies I contact don't hire out of South Florida... I'll keep that in mind Turtle.

Reactions: ttruck

Moot

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
It really doesn't matter where you are from. Call anyway.
An expedite carrier shouldn't care where you live, they even lease with people that live in Michigan. A fleet owner looking to pair a team might consider a south Florida resident a potential problem due to home time. Like Ragman said, call around.

BoogiedownBronnx

New Recruit
Researching
Thanks Ragman! I'm not giving up yet... Although, it's very discouraging, because I keep running into the same thing "Sorry we don't hire from that far south"... Hopefully I'll catch a break eventually.

geo

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Retired Expediter
US Navy
where in south fl do you live, check out ceva they will be out by airport if they are in your area
if they are you want to speak to op dispatcher
if you need a sprinter we have them in stock

Tobster317

Expert Expediter
Owner/Operator