Anyone running Sterling with MBE900?

Weave

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
My father is getting quotes on a new C unit for himself- One chassis the mid-size Sterling with MBE900, the other an International 4300 with DT466E. I am somewhat familiar with the International truck and its engine, but know nothing about the Mercedes 900 other than it is not new in Europe and has been in production since '96.
Is anyone out there running the Sterling/MBE setup? If so, what are your thoughts so far about it? Is the Sterling cab decent or has it just become another FL70? --what he is getting out of and wants something more comfortable and quieter. Thanks!
-Weave-

TimTurtle

Expert Expediter
Weave,
I have no personal experience with the Sterling. However I did talk to a guy the other day that had one. I commented that I liked his truck and he told me never to but one because he is having alot of problems with it. I dont know what motor or anything else about it. But I figured I would pass on that tid-bit.

G

A while back, I spoke to a guy with a FL-60 which also had the MBE900 engine.. He was pleased with the performance and said it was very quiet, but the truck was new so no experience with longevity.

We have a '01 International 4700 (the model previous to the 4300) with the DT466E and in 190,000 miles have only had to replace a fuel pressure regulator and a fan clutch (common problem, I'm told). Other than that, it has been 100% dependable as well as MUCH quieter than a Cat or Cummins. My oil lab guy says the engine is still like new.

jwmeyer

Expert Expediter