anyone running a 6.6 duramax box truck ?

idtrans

Expert Expediter
What mpg do you get I am looking at a 2007 12' x 8' 3500 chevy duramax with 150k for only $7k so I may pull trigger on it. van is good shape and I think I should get between 16 to 18mpg . I do have a bullydog triple dog tuner I am going to test out on it if I get it and see if it improves MPG if all goes good I will be a happy camper I need the extra 2 feet pulling the loads I get my 10' cube keeps me very busy but I want the extra 2' for a little more comfort plus being a old trucker I like the diesel more than gasoline myself.

Thanks

ntimevan

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
I think its a decent motor and decent mileage in 4 x 4 pickups but in a 12 ft. cube you'll be over 10.000 gvw in my estimate .

xiggi

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
If you already have a cube you probably have a better idea on mileage but I would be shocked if you averaged 16 - 18 in one.

idtrans

Expert Expediter
Well if I buy the van we will just have to see. I do plan on adding a wind deflector also and the bully dog and down the road a 4" exhaust and a k&n filter gonna open her up breathing wise as much as I can. with my old 7.3 power stroke cv I was getting 22 easily at 70mph.

I wonder what a normal cv with duramax gets mpg ?

truckblue

Expert Expediter
Driver
My son has an '06 duramax pick up. He uses 'EFI Live' for tuning. His mechanic put a switch he can use to change tunes on the fly...economy, towing, cummins killer...etc. There are a lot of things you can do to improve milage on these motors. Check out Georgia Diesel in Lavonia, Ga., or go on duramax forum and you will get a lot of questions answered there. Good motor, by the way.

greg334

Veteran Expediter
It depends on the rear end.

I know of two box trucks that have a 4.11 in them, which gives them the right gearing for their needs. Both are 14 foot trucks, both are hauling about 3000 lbs around and they average 17.

idtrans

Expert Expediter