Advice for a cargo newbie?

jrhoades

New Recruit
Researching
Any and all advice would be appreciated!
I'm completely new to this. I've driven a class A before but not a cargo van otr.

Sent from my iPhone using EO Forums

RoadTime

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Not knowing your situation, my first advice would be to not do it if possible. The market is oversaturated with vans as it is. Use your class A to at least get into a straight truck, and give yourself a fighting chance.

KP.

New Recruit
Researching
Roadtime, beside being oversaturated can you provide any other details pros and cons? I've been researching this for months and would love to get on the road and do this. Messages like yours make me pause over and over again. I tried contacting Roadmaster in Millington, TN (I live in Chicago) never returns my call I'm not sure I have a lot of confidence going for my cdl if I can't get a return call from what is suppose to be one of two best CDL training companies. I'm also a female so Cargo Van is my first choice and straight truck which is number two is a much harder life style from what I've seen. All advise is appreciated. Thanks, Kathryn

RoadTime

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Roadtime, beside being oversaturated can you provide any other details pros and cons? I've been researching this for months and would love to get on the road and do this. Messages like yours make me pause over and over again. I tried contacting Roadmaster in Millington, TN (I live in Chicago) never returns my call I'm not sure I have a lot of confidence going for my cdl if I can't get a return call from what is suppose to be one of two best CDL training companies. I'm also a female so Cargo Van is my first choice and straight truck which is number two is a much harder life style from what I've seen. All advise is appreciated. Thanks, Kathryn

Maybe I misunderstood, Do you currently not have a CDL?

jrhoades

New Recruit
Researching
I have mine.