21 Years and you're out of here!!!

sanbomi1

Expert Expediter
Researching
US Army
Hello All,

I will attempt to keep this short; I don't mean to write a long post.

My first time starting a thread; however I have been visiting EO for the past 2 years or so, attended a workshop near Detroit and the Expedite Expo 2007. I appreciate very much all the information that is available on this site along with what I have been able to obtain at both the workshop and Expo.

Last week I, along with 100 or so associates, received notice that our jobs will be eliminated. Approximately a year ago the company I work for was bought by another company and these job losses are a result of the consolidation of same type positions, unfortunately, these positions are not staying at my location. Fortunately, most of us have 6 months to a year before our job ending dates, that at least buys us a little time. I live in Michigan so the job market is not good, to say the least.

The elimination of my job is not a shock, a surprise yes, but not a shock. My job has been in question for a few years now so that is why I have been investigating the expedited business. One does not need to spend much time investigating the expedited industry to know that it is more than a bit challenging to be successful. If I were to follow my heart, my desire, I would take this opportunity and jump into the expedited business, however, knowing what I know, having spent a tremendous amount of time investigating the industry, and knowing what is best for my family, the expedited business does not appear to meet these needs, at least not right now.

Years ago I spent a brief time driving tractor trailer; this appears to be the direction I am headed in once again. I will be attending the Mid American Truck Show next month. I have been planning on attending for quite some time but I am now looking at this show in a whole different light and will be gathering as much information as I can.