Sitting

MNMS

New Recruit
Driver
I've really enjoyed this type of work but have sat all but one weekend since I started in September. The owner said that I would be so busy over the holidays that I would wish for sleep. I've hardly moved the past two weeks and don't know if I can continue to sit every weekend like this. I'll pay a huge price if I quit at this point but I'm so depressed about all the weekend sitting I don't know whether to wait it out or quit. I call in every day to see if anything is moving or see if I should go to another area but it sounds like there isn't much going on anywhere, it would help if I were really busy during the week but it's been so slow...any advice? Will it get better? I'm a CV driver.

Sent from my iPhone using EO Forums

xiggi

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Sitting on weekends is pretty common. Some companies do a little better on weekends than others. Even at one of those your probably gonna sit more than drive at those times. Sitting is a part of the game especially in a van. The more creature comforts and entertainment like computer, dvds, TV. Heat air comfortable bed, heat and air the easier sitting is.

fastman_1

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Thanksgiving to the end of January is a slow time, it's starts to pick up in February, but really it comes down to a roll of the dice. Sometimes you win and sometimes you lose

Undisputed King of Short Runs

Reactions: MNMS and ntimevan

TeamHutch

Expert Expediter
Owner/Operator
While sitting is a part of the job. I've been see guys getting at least 2k miles a week. Are you doing similar? What company are you with?

Reactions: MNMS

MNMS

New Recruit
Driver