Shipping Hazmat, Help please.

Guacapoli

New Recruit
Hi guys I just have a few questions that I hope you can help me out with. My company just started distributing for a paint company. A few products are UN1263, flammable liquid, 3, PGII. I have some experience in hazmat but only in large quantities. We have customers coming to pickup some products and we use pick up trucks to also deliver them. It's usually only a few hundred pounds of products, definitely not over 1,000 lbs ever. My questions are:

In order for us to deliver this product do we need any type of hazmat endorsement?

If a customer picks up, does he need to have some kind of endorsement?

Thanks guys!

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
Anything that requires placards requires a HAZMAT endorsement. If the shipment doesn't require placards, then no endorsement is required. The same is true for a customer pickup.

Reactions: bg101 and Guacapoli

Guacapoli

New Recruit
Anything that requires placards requires a HAZMAT endorsement. If the shipment doesn't require placards, then no endorsement is required. The same is true for a customer pickup.

Thank you. I'm under the understanding that as long as it's under $1,000 pounds the vehicle does not need to be placarded.

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
Is 1000 dollar pounds kinda like foot-pounds, only different? :D

Yes, any Class 3 Flammable Table 2 material is limited to 1,000 pounds for transport by motor vehicle. So no placards required.

deadhead

Veteran Expediter