Respect the TOE

acvox24

Expert Expediter
Owner/Operator
For all of you guys with transits with that feature that lets you know many miles until your empty, and your wondering how much further you can go once it hits zero. I only got 12 miles past it with a 400 lb load and I was out of gas. It's my strong opinion that ford has some kinda of sensor that kills the engine once it get so low. I have a lot of experience running out of gas as a teen. There was no spurting or anything the engine just turn off. Threw it in neutral tried to start it back up, nothing. After walking half a mile with a gas can. I was totally expecting to have to crank away to get it started. Nope, fired right up immediately like always. No way the fuel lines were dry.

Sent from my iPhone using EO Forums

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Why run it out of gas? Why not fill when it's around 1/4? It may not be harmful to run out of gas but that's definitely debatable. It isn't beneficial for it to run out though and nobody can legitimately argue that. I know a lot of guys do the same thing but it's kind of like jumping off the roof because others did it without breaking their leg. At least it's only a long walk wasting a bunch of time and no broken bones.

OntarioVanMan

Retired Expediter
Owner/Operator
it might be a protection device....running out of fuel can damage fuel injectors..burn them out...to run out of fuel especially under load is just plain...well you know...
Personally...I'd terminate your contract....just the way I roll....

Reactions: ntimevan

geo

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Retired Expediter
US Navy
when i was learning to drive my dad, who had a degree in auto eng, said if you run out of gas i'm going to bring you any gas, he said never let it get below 1/2 of a tank, you never know when you will need that extra 1/2 of tank
should take a break ever so often to, don't hold up on pit stop's as they can lead to problem's if you do it to much