Panther Straight Solo Drivers - need input

chetjester

Veteran Expediter
Driver
My co-driver has a family situation which requires her to leave the truck we are driving for Dave Corfman. It is a 2000 FL70 temp control box with push axle and liftgate. 96" sleeper. Quite capable of handling most loads, although, the insulation in the box reduces the inside width to only 92 inches.

Anyway, I would like to go out solo in this truck. I am delivering near Dallas tomorrow (I live near Dallas) and will then be ready to see how busy Panther can keep me. Of course, I suppose I'll have to start by deadheading to a more solo friendly area.

I have no experience with solo runs for Panther. I'm trying to find out if I can keep the truck running for Dave, or, do I have to do the honorable thing and return the truck to him for a team to run. He is willing to test out the solo market, but knowing something ahead of time would be nice. I don't require returns to Dallas on a regular basis. Every couple of months is fine for me. My sleeper is so large I can easily live in it for long periods of time.

I'm not interested in a co-driver. That will never happen. My current co-driver is a special person who should be thought of as a saint for dealing with me for the last 6 months. I'm way too controlling and prefer being alone.

So if you have some advice on opportunities with Panther and expected income, both Dave and I would appreciate your feedback.

Thanks for your time.

tec1959

Expert Expediter
Chet hi,I think it is great of dave letting you run solo but with a truck like that,What i mean is with a lift and tag axle and i think you said a reefer.You will only make money running a team in it because most runs will be to long for a solo.I tried to run as a solo in a reefer and almost went broke.Me myself i see no way of you making it as a solo in it sorry i hope i'm wrong but i did E and DR units for almost 10 yrs with Roberts Express and Fedex..I hope this helps a little.....