Cargo Van New to EO,looking to get in the industry.

Moses

New Recruit
Researching
Hello everyone ,my name is Moses I live in Atlanta,GA I'm new to EO I've been doing a lot of research online about expediting and I'm very interested in driving a cargo van for an owner to learn the industry and expanding later getting my CDL .I have no kids and very little family so that means I can stay on the road make some money and travel basically 24/7 which I think would be an amazing career path for me.I would greatly appreciate it if anyone has info on where or how I can get started .I know there's good and bad in any field and I weighed the pros & cons and this is what I truly want to do asap thank you and all feedback is welcome

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
One of the cons you're really going to want to weigh is the fact that it is currently the worst it's ever been for cargo vans in the expediting industry. The amount of cargo van and Sprinter freight, and the rates at which that freight moves, is at an all-time low. It's not just bad, it's bad, bad, bad. So, you won't make any money. Any by not any money, I mean you'll be thrilled if you can gross $1000 a week average on 1400-1500 miles. You'll clear about $400 per week after expenses.

Reactions: ajakapari

Moses

New Recruit
Researching
Thank you but also for me it's not all about the money although that is very important ,as I stated before I would like to learn the industry & get my CDL also I love to travel & my expenses would be very low Outside of Otr expenses.Is load 1 a company I should look into?

Ragman

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Your OTR expenses could wipe out the inexperienced financially in no time.

Your best bet is to drive for an owner first.

Moses

New Recruit
Researching
Yes that's exactly what I'm looking to start with,drive for an owner and gain experience & knowledge of the industry and go from there .

Ragman

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter