New here, have a preliminary question

vchien211

New Recruit
Driver
Hello all! I'm new here and I stumbled upon this site and was doing some researching on expediting. It does sound like something I want to do and something that I can do, moving time-sensitive freight. However, one thing is that I do not have a CDL and that I have no experience in expediting. I'd love to drive for a fleet owner that would give a newbie a chance in a non-CDL vehicle all across the country or even just regionally.

My question, though - is there a market for non-CDL, inexperienced expediters? I was looking through the ads and I saw that there are a handful of non-CDL opps out there. Wasn't quite sure if they needed experience or not. Thanks a mil in advance!

P.S.: I know I'll have far more questions soon. Just this one I had off the top of my head.

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Your best first step is to consider expediting a career just like air conditioning, plumbing, dental technician or anything else. You wouldn't get into any of those careers expecting to excel without a good education. So, you should read back at least 3 years in the General, Newbies and Recruiter forums. Read every single thread title. If the thread sounds even remotely applicable to your situation or to learning this career then read every single word in that thread. Once you've gone back at least 3 years you will have learned a lot, enough to recognize many more questions. So. You start all over and read back at least 3 years in the General, Newbies and Recruiter forums again. Read every thread title again. The ones you skipped over before because you didn't know enough yet to know they were important will stand out so this time you read those. When that's done you should have probably spent 100 hours reading forums. Then you'll know enough to know if this is the career for you or not. You'll also know enough to make it in this career if you do give it a try.

Reactions: brokcanadian

TeamPaul