Landstar Express straight trucks

gardair

Expert Expediter
Hello all...I'm new to this forum and am looking into expediting. I have a couple years experience in tractor-trailers,(dry vans and haz-mat tankers), and would like to ask a few questions about your side of the trucking business.
I'm trying to get ideas about how to make a living solo driving either a Sprinter or a straight truck and have enough control over my "business" that I can take time off as needed to tend to family and personal commitments.
I know that Landstar BCO's can schedule their own loads and time off,but I've only seen a couple of loads for straight trucks on their internet board,and nothing for Sprinters.
Are any of you driving a straight truck for Landstar Express?
Are there any other expedite companies who allow the truck owner/operator to schedule loads and time off similar to Landstar?
Thanks for taking the time to read this. I'm looking forward to your replies.

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
You'll probably make more money as a solo in a straight truck than you will in a Sprinter, simply because there are more load opportunities for straight trucks than Sprinters or cargo vans. Plus, most carriers will load a straight truck ahead of a van, to keep that straight truck moving and happy. Relatively speaking. :D

As an independent contractor, most carriers have no forced-dispatch, meaning you can take the load or not, as well as work when you want to or not. So scheduling time off is only really limited by your finances and when you want to work.