Cargo Van Is anyone else slow right now?

Heather Jones

Rookie Expediter
My dispatch as been very unlucky on getting bids these last couple of weeks. They have also told me that it is very slow right now and more so in the Midwest. Is anyone else having this same issue? Also, what is the normal Avg that a cargo van (non-extended and not a sprinter) makes per mile. I just want to make sure that the .79 per mile (with fuel surcharge) is within the right range. I am new to this and I am just learning. So, I will probably have a million questions.

JohnWC

Veteran Expediter
Right now .80 to 1.30 shorter ones pay better it's a game right now being where nobody else is expiditing game

mjmsprt40

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
I'm in a different branch of this-- hotshot in a van-- right now I'm doing 1.03 a loaded mile. .90 is the base, .13 FSC.

.80 a mile--- even if you have no dead-head you can just barely make it.

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
Short wheelbase cargo van, about 80 cents is what you're gonna run in to with many carriers, unless you're with one of the larger, more reputable carriers.

July is always slower for expediting. Many auto plants and suppliers are down for retooling or are running reduced shifts.

Cargo van expediting is never busy. When cargo van driver start threads (and it's always vanners who start them) asking if anyone else is slow the answer is invariably yes.

wvcourier

Expert Expediter
I kinda figure that, but like I said I am new to this and am not sure what is a good deal. Could you please tell me what would be good?
Ive only done 14 runs with Universal, but so far only 2 was at the Contracted rate(might just been lucky) last run was 1.05 mile from Michigan to Alabama 845 miles. Ive been with 4 different carriers recently, and can tell you Grass is not Greener anywhere else(for C/V) The good thing about Universal is the minimimal deductions, and Deductions add up very quick especially when its this slow.