I Need Some Advice From CV Drivers and/or Fleet Owners

McLeod

Seasoned Expediter
I am a broker/carrier/freight forwarder. I have 15 drivers, most of them being cargo vans. They are all owner/operators. I do a lot of expedite work, but most of our deliveries are made within a 300 mile radius. When I do send a driver out on an overnight trip, he will wait until I find them another load, but rarely do I have a driver out more than 5 days.

I was approached by friend of mine who is interested in being an expediter. He knew I already ordered a 2015 Promaster and was asking what I planned on doing with it. I purchased it because I was tired of spending $1500 a month renting vans from Enterprise, not because I have a bunch of work lined up for it.

What is a fair split if I own the van and I'm paying for pretty much everything other than fuel. I want the driver to be able to make a living, but I'm still trying to make a profit. Also, what needs to be inside the van to make it comfortable for someone who is going to be living in it? I would appreciate any suggestions or ideas. I've always treated my drivers well and I want to make sure he is comfortable and we both make money.

xiggi

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Typical pay is 60/40 if driver pays fuel 40/60 if owners pays it. Driver should get extras paid like hand unload, layover, ect.

paullud

Veteran Expediter
How do you calculate pay? Do you have just all in rates or do you separate fuel surcharge?

paullud

Veteran Expediter
The problem with doing a typical split in that scenario is that your situation will not be typical. Usually in the 60/40 split the person paying for the fuel gets the 60% and the fuel surcharge. You might want to consider something different where you pay for fuel and then give him a bonus for fuel mileage performance.

paullud

Veteran Expediter