cargo van weight limit?

papertank

Seasoned Expediter
hi everybody im new to the expiditing world and new to this forum.im getting ready to start with acompnay as a o/o after getting all my paper work ready the gm says to me "ok were start your hauling weight at 2500lbs.my truck is a 02 ford E250 6cly 3/4 ton.I am wondering can my truck handle this kind of weight safely and will this kind of weight destroy my truck.please tell me what i should do.and if i refuse to haul this much what will happen.

comet_4298

Seasoned Expediter
You need to look on your sticker or metal tag and see the GVW......put in all things that you will be taking with you and a full tank of fuel and get it scaled.........now subtact that weight from your GVW and that leave what you are able to haul per van specs.

There's a little more to it for per axle,but that should get you going.

greg334

Veteran Expediter
1st rule of this business - get the biggest van you can find.

2nd rule is Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW or GVRW) rules on the road.

Van's curb weight (empty weight) includes a FULL tank, a driver, and all their crap.

Formula -

Curb weight minus GVW equals the safe cargo weight*.

*The safe cargo weight should be 10% less than what you can haul. (this is my opinion, other's may differ)

So your E250 may have a 8550 lb GVW.

The curb weight may be 5700 lbs without driver or stuff.

Add 350 lbs for driver and stuff which leaves you with 6050 lbs.

8550 - 6500 = 2000 lbs of cargo you can haul.

If you use the 10%, then it is 1800 lbs.

Now I haven't owned an E250 for almost 20 years so someone can provide more accurate numbers.

chefdennis

Veteran Expediter
The E-250 came in 2 GVW's....7200 lbs the light 3/4 and 8600 the heavy duty 3/4...make sure you check the tag...it will appear as a GCVW which means Gross Combined Vehicle Weight..and you figure your "payload" or weight carrying capacity as described above....

greg334

Veteran Expediter