Cargo Van Cargo Van Capacity: 2 pallets vs 3 pallets

David

New Recruit
Researching
I'm currently an owner operator (tractor-trailer) looking to retire soon. Looking at part-time expediter opportunities to basically fund travel for a decade or two. Have plenty of cash reserves to buy a new Ford Transit Van, but am on the fence about pallet carrying capacity. Spec'd Transit van has a cargo length of 13.85', so I could potentially fit 3 pallets. Have full interior layout worked out in CAD software so that the sleeper could be temporarily converted to fit three pallets and still sleep comfortably.

My question: Is there any advantage to having capacity for the third pallet? Is there a need for that much capacity in the cargo van segment? Specs are below, if that helps. Any advice or thoughts are appreciated!

2016 Transit Van XL 350
Extended Length
High Roof Height
3.2L I5 Diesel Engine
3.31 Limited Slip Axle
6-Speed SelectShift® Automatic Transmission - O/D
Single Rear Wheel (Body Code: W3X)
Gross Vehicle Weight Rating: 9500 GVWR
Payload: 3,640 lbs
Towing: 4,200 lbs

Last edited:

Mike99

Veteran Expediter
Yes bigger is better. But with 3 skids no room for a bed. So you have to built a rase bed or something.Also I would go with gas engine. But this is up to you. I have one, currently 85kmiles ,not a single issue.Also you sure on gvw on that 350?

Last edited:

xiggi

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
It depends partly on what carrier you sign with. Some require 3 skid capacity some do not.

Worn Out Manager

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
US Air Force
I have that van and my bunk is behind the seats mounted on 4 alum posts. if I get 3 skids I raise the bunk out of the way, so far it has worked for me. 3 skid loads about 10% of the time. That being said, I followed the advice of others on EO and got tallest/longest and have never regretted it! 3.5 gas works great.

geo

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Retired Expediter
US Navy