Registration must be in the name of the driver

brokcanadian

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
I've seen this everywhere, and although I'm not a newbie its never been explained. I posted here thinking it might help the newbie crowd as well.

WHY does the registration have to be in the name of the driver? Insurance? Contract law? Company fleet insurance? Liability?

My personal experience at my old company had them cancel our fleet insurance and obtain our own, with our own plates, but the vehicle had to be in the owner operator's name.

So...leases or corporate ownership are out? Why?

Anybody explaining any and all reasons for this I'd appreciate it. Saw it as recently as today on a company's website that was taking on vans

Perioodic

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
My van isn't in my name. I'm just on the insurance policy and nobody has had a problem with it.

brokcanadian

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
My van isn't in my name. I'm just on the insurance policy and nobody has had a problem with it.
That's my previous experience but I'm seeing this a lot. Makes me wonder how to set up a proper corporation to own the van for example (save on taxes)

Closest thing to an explanation was "our contract is with you thats why"

Perioodic

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
That's my previous experience but I'm seeing this a lot. Makes me wonder how to set up a proper corporation to own the van for example (save on taxes)

Closest thing to an explanation was "our contract is with you thats why"

You can get a power of attorney and it'll be "yours" in the companies name.

brokcanadian

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Thanks for that...not sure if it would pass a brainless recruiter or not if the registration portion was not in "my name" ?

brokcanadian

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Must.be.a Canadian thing.