Any body know how to open 2010 sprinter hood......

Hightech_Hobo

Expert Expediter
.....when the release cable is broken up near hood latch...

..I can't get my hood to open due to broken cable...any one know the work around..

Thanks for any help

Hobo...

Jenny

Veteran Expediter
I know there is a thread on sprinter source forum on how to open it and tighten the cable.

Sent from my VS920 4G using Xparent Pink Tapatalk 2

xiggi

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
I just looked at mine sorry to say I got nothing. I think I would be calling a service center and asking for advice.

Sent from my Fisher Price ABC-123.

paullud

Veteran Expediter
Well if Murraycroexp's idea is a no go you might be able to go through the grill. I am not familiar with Sprinters but I had the same thing happen to my car when I was a broke student. I could see the hood latch through the grill opening and I pulled the cable out as far as I could and cut it. Then I just stripped the black plastic off and I was able to pull the cable by hand.

FYI: For a nice sporty look just completely remove the latch and install hood pins.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using EO Forums mobile app

westmicher

Veteran Expediter
Forgive my Mercedes disdain but, if the design thinking follows, only a Mercedes dealer will have the tool, it will take 15 minutes to fix, and cost you $1,300 or so...:mad:

mjmsprt40

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
I had it happen on my '05 Sprinter. The "fix" is ugly as home-made sin but it works.

You have to cut a hole in the grill, left of the center and near the top of the grill, to admit your hand and a pair of Channel-lock pliers. Reach your hand up in there and feel the latch, there are a couple of extensions that you'll feel. One is the anchor point for the cable housing-- it doesn't move--, the other is the movable part of the latch. Put your Channel Lock on this so it bridges these two points, then squeeze. The hood will open.