ExpeditersOnline.com
Try Hours
Bolt Express
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Madison, Wisconsin, USA.
    Posts
    40

    Programing the Allison Automatic Transmission?

    I have heard that you can go to an Allison Automatic Distributor and have the programing in your transmission changed. Basicly what I want to do is get Overdrive to lock in at a higher speed to save fuel.

    When I called the Island diesel Allison Distributor in Milwaukee, he said he had never heard of such a thing. If he is correct than what the heck is that "Mode Button" on the gear selector plate for?

    I would appreciate any help I can get on this.

  2. YOU decide your loads, your schedule, your home time with Landstar
    Landstar Express America
    As a "Business Capacity Owner" or BCO with Landstar, you control your business the way YOU want. You select the freight. You set your schedule. You decide on home time. At Landstar, owner/operators are compensated based on a fixed percentage of the revenue generated from the freight they haul. As rates increase, so does your compensation. Landstar is hiring Owner/Operators... Apply now!
     

  3. 1,178745,21762,8
  4. #2
    Senior Moderator davekc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    FL & TN, USA.
    Posts
    13,744

    RE: Programing the Allison Automatic Transmission?

    It is a long post, but you can PM me with your number. I will tell you the exact process.

    Davekc
    owner
    21 years
    fleet owner
    29 years
    Panther & Load One


  5. 2,178746,21762,8
  6. #3
    LDB
    LDB is online now
    14K Member LDB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Texas, U.S.A.
    Posts
    14,640

    RE: Programing the Allison Automatic Transmission?

    On mine the truck starts out with only 5 gears available. The mode button must be pressed to activate the overdrive 6th. Without pressing mode it will never shift higher than 5th. Each time the engine is started the mode button must be pressed. It stays in effect until the engine is turned off. I'd prefer it came up with all 6 available and if for some crazy reason I didn't want it to get to 6th then and only then must mode be pressed.

    Leo Bricker
    OOIDA 677319
    truck 4958
    73's K5LDB
    Support the entire Constitution, not just the parts you like.
    A wise man's heart directs him toward the right, but the foolish man's heart directs him toward the left. Ecclesiastes 10:2 NASB
    ---------------------------
    It's okay if you disagree. I can't force you to be correct.

  7. 3,178747,21762,8
  8. #4
    Moderator Dynamite 1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Mattoon, IL
    Posts
    2,780

    RE: Programing the Allison Automatic Transmission?

    while the thing about the mode for 6th may be true it does not work that way with my 4000hs allison. i am assuming you have the 3000 series in yours. but the mode button is a fuel economy thing , keep it off and get on the throttle hard and hold it and watch the rpm it shifts at then turn it on do the same and watch the rpm. should shift 2-300 rpm sooner w/mode on or off. which ever is sooner is the econo modde and should be used puttin around , turn off for cruising
    T N T
    Finally, home again
    Load One
    Trk. #3060, #3160, #3180, #3185


  9. 4,178748,21762,8
  10. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    .
    Posts
    8

    RE: Programing the Allison Automatic Transmission?

    I have a sterling truck with a mbe 900, 3000 hd allison automatic transmision. Cruising at 65mph i was running at 2050rpms. Took my truck to stewart & stevenson, allison auth. repair shop and change transmission calibration from 5 to 6 speed. I now tach at 1750rpm at 65mph cost $435.00 . 250.00 program from allison, 150.00 labor + tax.
    The saving in fuel i will find out this trip.

  11. 5,178749,21762,8
  12. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Charlotte, NC, usa.
    Posts
    2,596

    RE: Programing the Allison Automatic Transmission?

    Mine goes into overdrive without the Mode button, the advantage I expierence with the Mode button on is it shifts quicker in the lower ends, it is not advised to use in WV, PA, upstate NY.

    Dave am I correct?????

  13. 6,178750,21762,8
  14. #7
    Senior Moderator davekc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    FL & TN, USA.
    Posts
    13,744

    RE: Programing the Allison Automatic Transmission?

    We just had one done not too long ago. My advise is to go to Stewart and Stevens in Dallas TX. Total cost was $98.00. Ask for Kenny in the transmission shop. They are a authorized dealer for Allison.
    I was quoted a flat $300 by two other shops.

    The mode is for economy. One for city, and one for highway. If mountain climbing and it is shifting alot, lock it into 5th.
    The rest depends on your setup. We have a 330 cat and it turns 1600rpms @ 65mph.


    Davekc
    owner
    21 years

    fleet owner
    29 years
    Panther & Load One


  15. 7,178751,21762,8

Similar Threads

  1. allison transmission
    By clarice in forum Truck Talk
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 01-23-2008, 08:51 AM
  2. Allison 6 Speed Automatic
    By guest in forum Truck Talk
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-17-2007, 10:28 AM
  3. Allison automatic trannsmission... Help
    By aquawarrior7 in forum Truck Talk
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-24-2007, 02:08 AM
  4. Allison question
    By Weave in forum Truck Talk
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-17-2005, 11:20 PM
  5. Automatic Transmission
    By Weave in forum Truck Talk
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-16-2001, 08:19 PM

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
ExpeditersOnline.Com Copyright © 1999-2011 On Time Media, LLC. All Rights Reserved.
ExpeditersOnline.com © is a registered trademark of On Time Media, LLC

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2